Medical Student Education

The Department of Pediatrics provides outstanding educational opportunities for medical students of all levels. At Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt, students will work closely alongside some of the world’s foremost experts in pediatrics. We provide a unique opportunity for students to not only learn about the management of infants, children, and adolescents, but actively participate and impact their health care.

Student Learning Experiences:

  • Pediatric Clerkship
  • Advanced Clinical Electives
  • Acting Internships
  • Visiting Medical Students
  • Shadowing Experiences
  • Pediatric Interest Group

Please see the Student Learning Experiences page for more information about each.


Travis W. Crook, MD

Travis W. Crook, MD
Director, Pediatric Medical Student Education
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Hospital Medicine

Maya Neeley, MD

Maya Neeley, MD
Associate Director, Pediatric Medical Student Education
Assistant Professor, Pediatric Hospital Medicine
College Mentor, Batson

Lyndi Hopkins

Lyndi Hopkins
Senior Administrative Assistant, Pediatric Residency and Clerkship Programs
Coordinator, Pediatric Clerkship Program



Maya Neeley

Maya Neeley was the recipient of the 2019-2020 Joseph Gigante Award honoring the distinguished educator and teacher of Vanderbilt and Meharry medical students who has dedicated themselves to training the next generation of pediatricians. 

Student Award Winners

Medical Student Education Student Award Winners

Every year, the Department of Pediatrics honors three outstanding graduating medical students entering into a career in pediatrics.

Congratulations to Nick Harris (on the right) for winning the 2020 Amos Christie Award. This award recognizes the student in the graduating class who has demonstrated the outstanding qualities of scholarship and humanity embodied by the ideal pediatrician.

Congratulations to Stephanie Hadley (on the left) for winning the 2020 Mildred T. Stahlman Award. This award honors the pioneering spirit and achievements of Mildred Stahlman, MD and is presented to the graduating student entering Pediatrics whose performance exemplifies the highest standards of leadership, professionalism, and commitment to improving the lives of children.

Congratulations to Katherine Konvinse (on the laptop in the middle) for winning the 2020 Richard Br. Johnston Jr. Award. This award is presented to a graduating student entering Pediatrics who has demonstrated excellence in academic scholarship and an extraordinary commitment to clinical medicine exemplifying the highest professional standards of the physician scientist.

Past Award Winners


Amos Christie Award - Lauren Starnes
Mildred T. Stahlman Award - Chelsea Lawson
Richard B. Johnston, Jr. Award - Lillian Juttukonda


Amos Christie Award - Isabelle Gigante
Mildred T. Stahlman Award - Julia Pitkin
Richard B. Johnston, Jr. Award - Brittany Passiak