Program Leadership

Please see below for more information on the K12 scholars program leadership.

Program Director

Co-Training Directors

Steering Committee

Senior Mentors


Mentors from Other Departments

David Bader, PhDGladys Parkinson Stahlman Chair in Cardiovascular Research; Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology

Timothy Blackwell, MD, Professor of Cancer Biology and Cell and Developmental Biology; Director, Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

P. Jeffrey Conn, PhD, Lee E. Limbird Professor of Pharmacology; Director, Vanderbilt Center for Neuroscience Drug Discovery

David K. Cortez, PhD, Ingram Professor of Cancer Research, Departments of Biochemistry and Cancer Biology

Nancy J. Cox, PhD, Director, Vanderbilt Genetics Institute; Director, Division of Genetic Medicine; Mary Phillips Edmonds Gray Professor of Genetics

Scott W. Hiebert, PhD, Professor of Biochemistry; Hortense B. Ingram Chair in Cancer Research

Simon Mallal, MBBS, Major E. B. Stahlman Chair in Infectious Diseases and Inflammation

R. Stokes Peebles, Jr., MD, Professor of Medicine, Division of Allergy, Pulmonary, and Critical Care Medicine

Dan Roden, MD, Senior Vice President for Personalized Medicine; Sam Clark Chair in Experimental Therapeutics; Professor of Pharmacology; Professor of Biomedical Informatics

Erik Skaar, PhD, MPH, Director, Institute for Infection, Immunology, and Inflammation (VI4); Director, Division of Molecular Pathogenesis; Ernest W. Goodpasture Chair in Pathology; Vice Chair for Research, Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology; Professor of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology

Roy Zent, MD, PhD, Thomas F. Frist Sr. Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine